The Philaco Woman’s Club of Apalachicola, part of the 130-year-old General Federation of Women’s Clubs, takes great pleasure and pride in announcing the winners of its annual Franklin County senior scholarships.

The four recipients, Ashlynn Camille Davis, Krista Kelley, Alyssa Robinson, and Honesti Williams, are all graduating from Franklin County High School Friday.

“We had nine outstanding applications this year, and it was a difficult choice for our judges who review each application carefully in the blind judging process,” said Susan Antekeier who co-chairs along with Karen Kessel the education committee, which oversees the scholarship program.

The Philaco Woman’s Club awards a scholarship each year to a graduating senior from a Franklin County school. This year, prior to the shutdown that curtailed club activity, Philaco’s board of directors authorized awarding two $1,000 scholarships.

During the course of selection a private Eastpoint community civic group offered to match Philaco’s two awards. “We are very happy with their contribution to award four $1,000 scholarships for 2020,” said Kessel.

Judges were Joni Andersen, Liz Sisung and Carol Wheeler; Jackie Bell and Pam Tullous helped with the processes.

Congratulations to all the seniors in Franklin County!