The Franklin County varsity boys soccer team dropped its opener 3-1 at John Paul II Nov. 8, but new coach Luis Ramon Valenzuela is confident boys will rebound from this.

“We have talent and we  are  going to pursue the best this season,” he said.

With an injury to starting goalie Dan Carrino, the team relied on senior Casey Sapp, who had 19 saves.

The team’s lone score came from the leg of Graham Kirvin, who was closest fighting to score near the goal after several rebounds by the Seahawks.

Zach Howze has two shots on goal, with James Newell have four, and one each for Kirvin and Josh Reeder.

“We played the entire time very hard, until the last minutes when they scored  two goals against us,” said Valenzuela, who is assisted by Stacy Kirvin. “Defensively we were strong, the entire  time. I told the boys to take this as a positive experience and let’s learn from our mistakes.

“We have a long season ahead to  play our best, since we have been practicing for three weeks, trying to find the chemistry between players and coaches,” said the first-year head coach, who has 15 years of  experience coaching Little League and high school soccer.

“I think they gave  all they had on the game,” said Valenzuela. “We will need to brush up our foot skills, and focus on accurate passing, in other words ball controlling.”

The Seahawks travel to Rocky Bayou today for the first district game. “ I am  sure Coach Kirvin and I will try our best to win this game, but once again, it will take practicing hard will take to the win,” said Valenzuela.

Mexican born, Valenzuela has played soccer since age 7. He holds a bachelor’s from the College of Philosophy of Missionaries of the Holy Spirit, and a bachelor of science in Spanish translation from Kent State University.

Seahawks varsity players this year include Sapp, Howze, Newell, Reeder, Kirvin, Elisha Patriotis, Julio Ramirez, brothers James and Billy Harris, Alex Causey, James Bailey, Joshua Patriotis, Jacob Montgomery, brothers Stefan and Walker DeVaughn, Dalyn Parrish, Austin Carter, Logan Allen and Tyler Pendleton.