With no municipal elections to be held in Apalachicola this year, all eyes turn to Carrabelle, where a field of five will vie for the two seats.

Apalachicola City Commissioners Brenda Ash and Frank Cook drew no challengers in the upcoming Sept. 3 non-partisan election, so no election will be held and they will each be given another four-year term.

But in Carrabelle, the two incumbents, Cal Allen and Brenda La Paz, in running to retain their seats, face three challengers, Franklin Daniels, Audrey Olivia Massey and Nikki Mock Millender.

The top two vote getters in the Sept. 3 non-partisan election will emerge the winners for the two four-year terms. Each paid a filing fee of $45 plus 1 percent of the positionís annual salary.

Earlier this month, Carrabelle city commissioners voted unanimously to install the two elected commissioners at the Sept. 5 city meeting, two days after the balloting.

Allen said the swearing-in will take place after the meeting, because incoming commissioners will not have had the benefit of attending workshops or hearing past discussions of a number of important issues to be addressed at that meeting.

Early voting runs from August 26 to 30, at Carrabelle City Hall, daily from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.