On Saturday, the morning of the 14th annual Scout Regatta, the county dedicated the Ninth Street bayside park  on St George Island to Boy Scout Troop 22.

County Commissioner Pinki Jackel, whose district represents the island and portions of Eastpoint, represented the county. With about 50 people were in attendance, she thanked Scoutmaster Larry Hale for his dedication to the troop for more than 30 years, his service to the nation as a Vietnam veterans, his work throughout the community, and for the long lasting impact he has had on the youth of Franklin County as a role model and leader.

The park, formerly a ferry landing created by William Popham in 1919, was later known as the old luau site because the St. George Island Yacht Club held their annual pig roast there. The park is now the home of the Troop 22ís annual sailing regatta. 

It has been upgraded by the county during the past three years. The county road department cleared and bush hogged the area, and parks and recreation installed park grills and picnic tables.This spring, Heath Galloway 's company, with the assistance of Todd Griffith, constructed a pavilion at the site in time for Saturday's dedication.

Following the dedication, the scouts participated in an abbreviated regatta. The racing was cut short by a sudden storm with powerful lightning but two heats were completed with the following results.

In the Youth Class, Morgan Walker and Catelyn Tedder took first place. Second place went to Simon Hodgeson and Rory Countryman and Pat and Ian Martin of Panama City finished third

In the Open Class, Greg Matthews and Ben George won the blue ribbon. Second place went to Tim Wallace and John Hunter. Third place was won by J.R. Serrato and Brook Hale; and fourth place went to Bryce Hale and Drew Robinson. A Sportmanship Award was presented to Dave Armentrout and Jack Vale. By LOIS SWOBODA