WEWAHITCHKA — Franklin County used a goal-line stand and late touchdown dash by junior Ethan Riley to defeat Wewahitchka 17-14 on Friday night in an Apalachicola River Valley Conference game between Class 1A schools.

Already trailing 14-10, the Seahawks surrendered the ball on their 3 when senior punter Landen Abel inadvertently went to one knee while fielding a low snap from center.

The Seahawk defense hung tough, and when Wewa was stifled on a fourth-and-8, the Hawks got the ball back with just minutes left.

“It was awesome, the kids stood up and that was the ballgame,” said coach Tony Yeomans.

Riley broke an 85-yard run with three minutes remaining to improve the Seahawks’ record to 5-4 going into Thursday’s Senior Night regular season finale.

The Seahawks got on the board first, when Abner Ramirez nailed a low-liner field goal form 32 yards in the middle of the first quarter.

A long touchdown run by Wewa, and a missed two-point conversion late in the first half put the Gators up 6-3 going into the locker room.

The Seahawks’ went up 10-6 in the third quarter when freshman quarterback Lamarius Martin ran it in from six yards out. But Wewa came back with a halfback pass for a score early in the fourth quarter, and then nailed the two-point conversion for the 14-10 lead.

“We went back-and forth, we didn’t play very well on offense, the kids were flat from the emotional loss to Cottondale,” said Yeomans. “We didn’t play very well but we made the plays when we had to.

“I told my kids afterward that champions find a way to win,” he said.

Franklin County hosts Munroe on Thursday night, and a victory would provide the first winning football season in school history.

“These kids believe they can win,” Yeomans said. “These are different kids. These kids never quit.”

Riley led the team with 12 carries for 144 yards.

At tonight’s senior night, beginning at 6:30 p.m. honored will be #2 Dalyn Sheridan, #4 Jack Harris. #11 Christian Amison. #12 Brian Barfield, #15 Landen Abel, #50 Jesse Page, #52 Branden Osburn, #58 Ethan Moses, #60 Kobe Myers and #88 Nathan Jones.