Class of 2014 reaps academic rewards

Published: Thursday, May 29, 2014 at 12:28 PM.

The following is a list of the scholarships, the name of the presenter and the recipients:

  • Apalachicola Masonic Lodge (Carl Duncan) $500 scholarships to Cynthia Duncan and Logan McLeod
  • Apalachicola Bay Charter School (Chimene Johnson) two $250 scholarships to Gracyn Kirvin and Graham Kirvin
  • Apalachicola Bay Rotary School (Alan Pierce) $1,000 scholarship to Bria Walker
  • Barbara Massey Memorial (Roderick Robinson) $500 scholarship to Jathan Martin
  • Carr Memorial (Dr. Lois Catlin) two $750 scholarships Bria Walker and Laura Gallegos
  • Centennial Bank (Brenda Ash) two $500 scholarships to Cameron White and Jathan Martin
  • College for Every Student (Eric Bidwell)   $3,000 scholarship to Lea Venable
  • Dixie Youth Softball (Roderick Robinson) $1,500 scholarship to Marlyn Lee
  • Eastpoint Church of God (Scott Shiver) $1,000 scholarships to Cameron White and Alex Causey
  • Edwin Ruge Scholarships (Roderick Robinson) two $1,000 scholarships to Gracyn Kirvin and Jathan Martin; and two $750 scholarships to Alex Causey and Ashley Carroll
  • FairPoint Communications (Cookie Dearinger) $750 scholarship to Ally Millender
  • Florida Seafood Festival (Carl Whaley) Four $500 scholarships to Ally Millender, Brook Pittman, Jathan Martin and Ashley Carroll
  • Forgotten Coast Builders Association (Roderick Robinson) two $1,500 scholarships to Ally Millender and Brook Pittman
  • Franklin County School Nutrition Association (April Dalton), $500 scholarship to Cameron White
  • Franklin County School Trust (Roderick Robinson) two $1,000 scholarships to Brook Pittman and Lea Venable
  • Franklin County School Board (Jimmy Gander and Teresa Ann Martin) four $1,000 scholarships to Lenny Ward, Lea Venable, Brook Pittman and Tevis Page
  • Franklin County Sheriff’s Office (Lt. Allen Ham) $500 scholarship to James Harris
  • Franklin County Teachers’ Association (Jamie Duhart) five $50 scholarships to Christina Boyd, Deborah Dempsey, Stefan DeVaughn, Haleigh Ming and Bria Walker
  • Franklin Educational Support Personnel  (Delores Croom) $50 scholarship to Cody Lyston
  • Franklin/Gulf Retired Educators Association (Annada Faircloth) $500 scholarship to Cameron White
  • Friends of the Reserve (Heidi Montgomery) two $500 scholarships to Brook Pittman and Bria Walker
  • Franklin County Education Foundation (Lois Catlin) $250 scholarships to Laura Gallegos, Bria Walker, and Jathan Martin; and $250 scholarships in name of retiring educations Eddie Joseph to Myel DeCourcey and James Bailey, and $250 scholarships in the name fo retiring education Sharon Browning Tevis Page and Laura Gallegos
  • H’COLA (Brenda Ash) two $250 scholarships to Bria Walker and Jathan Martin
  • Loretta Taylor Memorial (Roderick Robinson) two $500 scholarships to Cameron White and Ashley Carroll
  • Love & Worship Center School of Arts (Damien Davis) $500 scholarships to Andrea Cupid and Jathan Martin
  • Love & Worship Center Daniel White Memorial (Damien Davis) $500 scholarship to Jathan Martin
  • Mamie Humphries Memorial (Roderick Robinson) four-year, $12,000 scholarship to Jathan Martin
  • Montgomery Foundation (Roderick Robinson) five $800 scholarships to Malachi Parker, Andrea Cupid, Cameron White, Logan McLeod and James Bailey
  • Phoenix Family (Lois Catlin) a $250 scholarship to DeborahDempsey and Andrea Cupid
  • Philaco Women’s Club (Ginny Griner) two $1,000 scholarship to Brook Pittman and Jathan Martin
  • Project HOPE (Myrtice Wynn) $300 scholarships to Deborah Dempsey, Andrea Cupid and Ashley Carroll
  • Seahawk Boosters (Carl Whaley) four $500 scholarships to Ally Millender, Gracyn Kirvin, Logan McLeod and Cameron White.
  • SWAT (Delores Croom) gave $700 in total gifts to Bria Walker, Jatrhan Martin and Andrea Cupid, who had been members since eighth grade; to Myel DeCourcey, who joined in the 10th grade; and to Laura Gae4llgos and Deborah Dempsey, who joined this year.
  • Take Stock in Children (Lois Catlin) multi-year scholarships worth nearly $25,000 annually to James Bailey, Jathan Martin, Myel DeCourcey, Deborah Dempsey, Andrea Cupid and Tevis Page, with honorary awards to Laura Gallegos and Bria Walker
  • Tyler Eddy Memorial (Jennifer Edwards), named for a young man, an active athlete and hunter, a future member of the Class of 2014, who died while still a boy. Two scholarships, each worth $500 to James Harris and Graham Kirvin
  • Willie Speed Memorial (Allyson Speed) two $250 scholarships to Brook Pittman and Bria Walker
  • Yent Family Memorial (Jim Hastings) $500 scholarships to Bria Walker and Laura Gallegos

1 2

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Weather Forecast | Weather Maps | Weather Radar