Class of 2014 reaps academic rewards

ella speed

Ella Speed poses with recipients Bria Walker, left, and Brook Pittman of the award given in the name of her late husband Willie Speed.

Published: Thursday, May 29, 2014 at 12:28 PM.

The Franklin County High School Class of 2014 harvested about $650,000 in academic and athletic scholarships Friday night.

After Stefan DeVaughn, vice president of the class, led the Pledge of Allegiance, Ashley Carroll, a member of the Class of 2014, offered a stirring rendition of the National Anthem.

Deborah Dempsey, class secretary, led the invocation, followed by a welcome from Jathan Martin, the class president.

Superintendent Nina Marks offered greetings in the form of the “Ten Commandments of Good Manners.”

Bria Walker, the class treasurer, read the class tribute poem she had written. Principal Eric Bidwell, School Board Chairman Jimmy Gander and Roderick Robinson, the high school guidance counselor, then presented medals to Walker as well as Laura Gallegos, who share valedictorian honors.

Several scholarships were then presented, followed by a passing of the torch through a candle lighting ceremony between class officers of 2014 and 2015.

The evening closed with class tribute song by Logan McLeod, and acknowledgments by Principal Eric Bidwell.

1 2

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Weather Forecast | Weather Maps | Weather Radar